Completed in 1883, Shelburne's Town Hall was designed by Town Clerk F.G. Dunbar and built at a cost of approximately $3,000.
Building of the Town Hall was a significant step to the new municipality with a population of 834! Throughout the preceding 114 years, the building was the core of the community, fulfilling a multitude of functions. In 1994, an extensive renovation was undertaken which increased usable space from 9,000 square feet to 17,000. The cost of $2.1 million was borne with assistance from government grants for preserving heritage properties. The building has heritage designation with the Ontario Heritage Trust and is the site of an Ontario Heritage Plaque entitled, "The Founding of Shelburne". It is also home to the Town Cenotaph.
Located at the corner of Main and Victoria Streets, the site has served as a butcher shop, a general store, shoe store and motion picture theatre, and it's current function as Town Hall.
The Town Hall now houses town staff and administration, town council chambers, police services, jail and Grace Tipling Concert Hall. Its 114 year history, however, has seen it as the home of Shelburne's fire hall, meeting hall, post office, courtroom, public library and department of health. It has housed the Citizen Band, the Quadrille Assembly, the Philharmonic Society, the Ladies' Silver Trumpet Band, Dance Orchestra, John Jelly's Roller Skating Club, churches, Sunday schools and Dufferin Farmers' Mutual Insurance.
When the renovation of the Town Hall was undertaken in 1994, the beautiful auditorium on the second floor was restored to its original grandeur. Now named the Grace Tipling Hall after Shelburne music teacher, the late Grace Tipling, the hall once again is at the heart of Shelburne's community. The highlight of the hall is the charming hand-painted ceiling orginally painted by William Collins.
Today the Town Hall showcases local art, and also serves as home to the trophies of the Canadian Old Time Fiddle Contest.