High Contrast OFF
| Text Size
Town Hall

Election 2018


Form EL08 - Certificate of Election Results


The Town of Shelburne has 4,876 eligible voters, 1,876 voted - voter turnout is 39%


Notice of Election


Electors in the Town of Shelburne  will be voting electronically, by internet or telephone, in the 2018 Municipal Election.

Advanced Voting opens: 

Tuesday, October 9th, 2018 at 10:00 am to Monday, October 22, 2018 at 10:00 am - Vote from any touch-tone telephone, cell phone, computer or other device connected to the internet.

Election Day: FINAL DAY to VOTE by Internet or Telephone - Monday, October 22, 2018  10:00 am to  8:00 pm.

A Voter Help Centre will be located at the Town Hall (203 Main St. E. Shelburne) and will be available Monday to Friday 8:30 am to 4:30 pm during the entire election. Drop in or Call: 519-925-2600 x223.

A Voter Information Letter will be mailed to residents directly in the month of October, providing them with a Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will allow them to vote 24 hours a day during the voting period from any touch-tone telephone, cell phone, computer or other device connected to the internet.

For a video demonstration of internet voting please click here.


2018 Election Policies and Procedures

Steve Anderson - Twitter - https://twitter.com/councillorsteve   Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/Councillorsteveanderson  Telephone - 647-201-9367
Mikal Archer - Email - ontargetforshelburne@gmail.com  Telephone - 416-400-7123
Walter Benotto - Email - wbenotto@rogers.com  Telephone - 519-925-3983
Lynda Buffett - Email - lyndab@royallepage.ca  Telehone - 519-217-5061
Althea Casamento - Email - altheacasamento@gmail.com  Telephone - 905-872-5070

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/groups/althea4councillor/
Twitter https://twitter.com/AltheaCasamento
website https://altheacasamento.wixsite.com/connectingcommunity

Kyle Fegan - Email - kyle@impactkreative.com  Telephone - 519-278-1035
Len Guchardi - Email - guchardilj@rogers.com  Telephone - 519-925-0274
Shane Hall - Email - thehouseofhalls@gmail.com  Telephone - 705-440-6740
James Hodder - Email - james.hodder@bell.net  Telephone - 519-925-4309
Wade Mills - Email - wmills@shelburnelaw.ca  Telephone - 519-278-6294
Daniel Sample - dan.sample.ds@gmail.com
Lindsay Wegener - lindsay-jeff@rogers.com
School Board Trustees
Eric Lapointe - Conseil scolaire Viamonde - French Public School Board Trustee
Guy Belcourt - Conseil scolaire Viamonde - French Public School Board Trustee
Saveria Caruso - Conseil scolaire Viamonde - French Public School Board Trustee
Genevieve Grenier - French Catholic School Board Trustee
Blaise Liake - French Catholic School Board Trustee
Sheralyn Roman - Dufferin Peel Catholic District School Board Trustee - 

Phone  - 416-420-9415

Email  - sromanfortrustee@gmail.com

Website - http://sromanschooltrustee.ca/

Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/sroman4schooltrustee/
Frank Di Cosola - Dufferin Peel Catholic District School Board Trustee
Lynn Topping - Upper Grand District School Board Public School Trustee
Alethia O'Hara-Stephenson - Upper Grand District School Board Public Trustee

For further information and clarification regarding the 2018 Municipal Election please refer to the Ministry of Municipal Affairs website at www.ontario.ca/municipalelections


The 2018 Candidates Guide and Information Package can be accessed by clicking here.  

Information for Candidates

Qualification for Municipal Office

A candidate for municipal office must, upon nomination, be a qualified municipal elector and fulfill all of the following requirements:

Be a resident of the municipality, a non-resident owner or tenant of land in the municipality or the spouse of such non-resident owner or tenant;

  • A Canadian citizen;
  • At least 18 years old;
  • Not legally prohibited from voting; and
  • Not disqualified by any legislation from holding municipal office.

NOTE: A candidate, if nominated, must remain qualified throughout the election and, if elected, throughout the term of office.

The following persons are disqualified from being elected to municipal office:

  • A person not eligible to vote in the municipality;
  • An employee of the municipality unless her or she

                  - takes an unpaid leave of absence before being nominated, and

                  - resigns, if elected to the office;

  • A judge of any court;
  • A member of the Legislative Assembly of Ontario, a Senator or a member of the House of Commons; or
  • An inmate of a penal or correctional institution under sentence of imprisonment.
Key Dates 

May 1, 2018 to July 27, 2018 - Nomination Period - Nominations may be filed by candidates with Clerk at any time, Monday to Friday from 8:30 am to 4:30 pm excluding statutory holidays.  On nomination day, Friday July 27, 2018, nominations may only be filed with the Clerk between the hours of 9:00 am and 2:00 pm.

May 1, 2018 to December 31, 2018 - Campaign Period - The campaign period begins May 1, 2018 or when a candidate files his or her nomination paper, whichever is later, and ends on December 31, 2018 unless the candidate withdraws their nomination or the Clerk rejects their nomination.

July 27, 2018 - Nomination Day - Last day for filing nominations from 9:00 am to 2:00 pm.

October 22, 2018 - Election Day - Voting is held between the hours of 10:00 am and 8:00 pm.

October 23, 2018 - Declaration of Results - The Clerk will publicly declare to be elected the candidate having the highest numbers of votes for the office.

October 25, 2018 - Removal of Election Signs - Election signs must be removed within 3 days of Election Day.

December 3, 2018 - Term of Office Commences - The elected members must take the Oath of Office prior to taking their seat.

December 31, 2018 - Campaign Period Ends for candidates and registered third parties.

March 27, 2019 - Deadline for Filing Financial Statements - This is the final date which all nominated candidates must file their financial statements.

To view the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing website for municipal election information please click here.









A People Place, A Change of Pace